Accra is killing me!

I moved back to Accra some months after spending almost all of my life as an adult in Kumasi.

It is good to be finally able to go to all these events that never get organized in Kumasi. It is good to meet and ‘re-meet a lot of people. It is nice to be able to go to Ci Gusta anytime I have a craving for frozen yoghurt. It is nice to be able to buy a jam doughnut or a muffin every morning before work. It is nice in Accra, and there are many great things happening here, but Accra is killing me!

I don’t know why, but it seems to me that most of the people who have given up on Ghana live here, and I keep meeting them or overhearing their conversations. It’s everywhere on radio (except with Bernard on Citi fm), and I’m getting exhausted with my efforts to stay positive. I am sick of hearing things like “Ghana dier”, “This country is so messed up” etc. Now I’m not saying it’s not messed up, I’m saying I’m tired of hearing it everywhere. Perhaps it’s because there are more borgas here. I understand that it’s difficult to move from Aburokyire (where everything works well) to Ghana (where nothing works well), but the negativity hurts me. Accra is killing me.

I also think it’s because I live in Ashalley Botwe and I go to and through Madina Market a lot. That place is pretty depressing – the smell, the filth, the heat… I used to live in a green patch around KNUST in Kumasi and the switch… from walking to work through an alley with a profusion of flowering plants and fruit trees and berries to jumping over rubbish heaps, dodging sellers that grab your hand (as if that will make you buy their wares)… is horrible! Accra is killing me.

Again about radio, I used to listen to Ultimate Radio and Luv Fm in Kumasi. Ultimate Radio has (had?) a fantastic morning show that focussed on things happening in Kumasi especially positive stories. Luv would transmit Joy Fm’s super morning show for a while and then switch to other things, so I guess I wasn’t hearing as much bad government corruption news as I am now. And with many of the twi language radio stations, they did give bad news, but they made it so funny that it was difficult to actually get angry about it. Here, there’s so much anger, which I understand, but Accra is killing me.

I hear Christmas in Accra is great. People are so drunk and happy from all the weddings and parties that they forget to complain. Unfortunately, I probably won’t experience this wonderful change, because I’ve made holiday plans to be AWAY from Accra, because you know, Accra is killing me!

I miss Kumasi, and as Sarkodie said in his Versace cover, someone please give me money so I can go back to my Kumasi. Last week I had a Barcamp meeting and I didn’t want to leave because I had missed “drinking” positive energy. When’s the next TEDx?

9 thoughts on “Accra is killing me!

  1. By contrast, Kumasi is killing me! I am at KNUST and just about dying from the sheer nonsense thy goes on here. It is doubly annoying because this school would be just fabulous if thugs were in order, the school would be jut fabulous. Lots of awesomeness buried beneath foolishness and left there. I want a ticket out of here for Christmas before I pop a vessel!

  2. I like the flow of article. Well presented arguments. Thus, I would like to add a valuable point by making a connection to the concept of ‘Cultural Shock’. In reality, our personality is defined by our behaviour and the environment we’re mostly engage in. As a result, we fall into the trap of discomfort whenever we find ourselves in an unfamiliar or different environment. As in your case, Accra (“I moved back to Accra some months after spending almost all of my life as an adult in Kumasi”).
    Hence, the same applies to Ghanaians returning from abroad. Now, for being away for 5yrs, I’m imagining my own shock when I visit Ghana.

Leave a Reply

