On Jamestown, Filth & Why Cholera Happened Again

When news about the Cholera outbreak in Accra broke, many people on twitter asked how this could happen in 2014 in Ghana. Some people thought it was a huge embarrassment and that government and local authorities should be ashamed. I agree, but how about us?

And then I went to Jamestown for the Chalewote street art festival. Just two days in Jamestown and I understood how this cholera outbreak could be happening in 2014 in Accra.

My friends and I had a stand at the festival- we sold drinks at the food court with a number of other food and drink vendors and I saw things…

I don’t know just how poor or hungry kids in Jamestown are, but I wasn’t expecting that much begging, and I certainly was not expecting to see kids eating from trash bins! I started giving out free drinks to kids, and then about 50 of them came around, crowded around our stand and wouldn’t even form a queue to get the drinks in an orderly fashion. They were violent, and it was so sad. I know JayNii Streetwise is doing as much as they can with kids in the area, but more should be done.

I got to Mantse Agbona on Saturday morning and found a pile of human excreta right in front one of the entrances. I couldn’t believe that someone walked up there and took a crap! The public toilets are not far from the spot – they’re right there, opposite Mantse Agbona! Then there’s the beach, which is littered with poop as well.

Now, I got one of the kids to cover it with sand, before someone could come & collect it for disposal, but I don’t know how many flies had gotten to it before I got there, and I don’t know where those flies went, but there was a lot of food around.

The cholera bacteria are transmitted between humans through the fecal-oral route. Simply put, from shit to food/ drink. Do you see where I’m going with this?

All the accredited food vendors I saw at #chalewote2014 did a good job of keeping away flies. There was disinfectant, some had mosquito coils and smoke …etc. but how about the unaccredited ones? We had one local walk up to us, and ask us how much our drinks were going for. She snorted at our 4 Cedis a cup, brought out her own palmwine with calabashes, set up opposite us and start selling at 2 Cedis or something with flies buzzing around her stuff. There were kenkey sellers too around, and festival goers were buying this ‘authentic’, ‘local’ food because … Chalewote of course!

Perhaps they were unaware of the cholera problem… Perhaps they had forgotten… Perhaps they didn’t care.

Whatever it was, after two days in Jamestown, I understood how there could be a cholera outbreak in 2014 in Accra.

3 thoughts on “On Jamestown, Filth & Why Cholera Happened Again

  1. Kuuks. Its sad but indeed its the truth. The systemic failures abound and the attitudinal challenges don’t make it any better. Its a complex issue and until there is a ministry of sanitation with a core mandate of tackling our sanitation challenges we may never get there. Its just not a priority of government or the citizenry until there is an outbreak. Watch… the rains will stop, the cholera will subside, ebola scares will go away and we will FORGET.

  2. what impels some people to undertake such foolishness amazes me. You walk along the beach and you see pile of rubbish along the shore, with kids playing just nearer the dump. Is it lack of toilet facility in those communities or the poverty level is too extreme that they choose to defecate and throw rubbish around anyhow? i don’t know.

Leave a Reply

