I love my class!!! Idc idc idc

I mean it.
Like… I love my whole entire class. Everybody. I don’t understand it myself. How can every single person be so nice… and thoughtful… and genuinely trying to be kind?!

I was full of anxieties and apprehensions about studying African Studies in the University of Oxford of all places. Before school started, I wondered if turning down LSE and Edinburgh was the best decision I could have made. Now I’m here and it is grrrreat.

My friend Anji doesn’t like it when I say she’s perfect or refer to someone as perfect. Lol. The way my “perfect” works is … It’s not that the person has no flaws… It’s that it’s just so obvious that the person is trying hard to be a good person. And that’s enough for me.

One of my favourite things about my class is the depth of thought. We don’t all agree on the answers but you can appreciate the thought processes… You can see how open people are to other viewpoints. And I feel… really feel… like I’m having a conversation with people that think, and even better, LIKE thinking.

And the staff, how do I explain it? I know – it’s like all my favourite teachers from KNUST in various combinations and permutations of manifestations.

There’s various mixes of Dr. Kootin-Sanwu, Mrs Laing and Professor Intsiful. Open, knowledgeable, approachable, really cool and so so intelligent. And the non-teaching staff too. Oh how I miss Uncle Ken!

And my supervisor is amazing! That’s 2 out of 3 for me in terms of the supervisors I’ve had. Pow!

And then there are the seminars which most of the time are in areas I know nothing about. I go for the methodology and to hear how people ask questions.

Never before in my life have I been surrounded with so many people to learn from. I’m in academic heaven.
As for the weather and the food, that’s a whole other matter. For now, I’m basking in the awesomeness that is the African Studies Centre.

Leave a Reply

