The Drowning Girl

There once was a girl who was drowning. Not figuratively – as in drowning in work or in love, but very literally – as in drowning in the Atlantic ocean in the middle of nowhere with no saviour in sight.

Now please do not ask me how she happened to get there… in the middle of that ocean, for it is a tale too long, too dark and too twisted to tell.

Let’s call our drowning girl Aba.

What I will tell you, however, is that after she had been struggling to stay afloat, kicking her feet furiously under water for a long, long, long while, along came a large boat with a girl on it.

Let’s call her Akos.

Aba felt a shiver of hopeful excitement go through her body as she saw Akos draw near. She knew she was going to be saved at last. After all, here was another girl, just like her but with a big boat, some rope and some warm clothes!

Akos drew near, but not very close.
“My dear, I feel so sorry for you! I understand your plight and I stand by you!”, she declared with great emotion, her beautiful eyes shining with unshed tears.

Aba was equally moved. “Thank you so much! I’ve waited for so long to be helped out of this situation or at least to be given a way to help myself, and things have been horribly, horribly hopeless until now. Help me unto your boat, please”

But Akos could not hear Aba, she was very very moved by her own goodness and willingness to stand by the drowning girl, against the oppressing ocean. So she kept on shouting at the skies, and at that wicked ocean… with passion, and pure, noble intentions.
“I stand with this drowning girl. I feel her pain!”

The End.

4 thoughts on “The Drowning Girl

Leave a Reply

